Mom’s Father’s Day Treat At Red Kimono

It’s our tradition in the family to celebrate Father’s Day even if my Dad is not in the country with us. And during like other occasions, it’s usually either my brother or myself, who wills to pay for our lunch. That time, my sisters and I cracked a joke that my Mom could be in charge of our restaurant bill for a change. Luckily, Mom said yes. We all agreed to eat at Red Kimono while the restaurant could still accommodate us. We went in early, just in time before other families started to fill in the place.

We got our usual orders. I had Sauteed Spinach and Chicken Teriyaki while my sister had Chicken Teppanyaki. This time, my mother got an order of Tonkatsu. She always gets this dish whenever we dine out in a Japanese restaurant.

Tonkatsu (Php 220.00)

When they saw Kakiage in the menu, they got interested on it and tried one. I had tried similar dish in another Japanese restaurant before and it was okay. I liked it but the fact that it was mostly made of carrots and sweet potatoes made me reluctant of eating it. I’m in a low-carb diet so these starches are a no-no for me.

Kakiage (Php 185.00)

Since the restaurant was jam-packed that time, I really appreciated the good service the staff gave us. Even the manager was busy trying to accommodate the requests and concerns of the customers. The meal was even more enjoyable because it’s free. We might not have this chance of asking our parent to pay for our meal again so we really tried to make the most of it. I bet next time, lunch is back on us. :P

Date of Visit: June 17, 2012
Location: Red Kimono, Marquee Mall, Angeles City, Pampanga

Leave a comment